PDA

View Full Version : QQ: Casting between movement and failed charge check?



Analytic Engine
06-14-2010, 05:50 AM
Is it possible for a caster to charge a target and purposely fail so that they may take advantage of a brief interval of casting after the movement has been made or do they immediately end their activation?

I apologize in advance if this is a question that is too frequently asked.

Malekhant
06-14-2010, 05:52 AM
No such interval exists. A failed charge ends activation.

Pickles
06-14-2010, 05:53 AM
They immediately end their activation so it does not work. They need some poor expendable friendly sap to charge.

jandrese
06-14-2010, 05:57 AM
The "Gap" that you are referring to happens AFTER the check for successful charge has taken place, but before the attack. Since the check is what causes you to end your activation, you can't cast a spell in that situation.

Analytic Engine
06-14-2010, 05:57 AM
Thank you. That had been my understanding, but when a fellow gamer made the suggestion to my girlfriend to charge with Vlad prior to casting Signs and Portents so that the area of affect was further infield, I could not point to a ruling that contradicted his tactic.

Regards and thanks for the quick responses.

ResurrectioN
06-14-2010, 06:35 AM
Signs and portens is aura so Vlad could cast then charge and fail charge for desired effect.