PDA

View Full Version : LOS on knockdown behind obstruction



Arthur Chance
07-13-2010, 10:24 PM
Played last night and Stryker managed to Earthquake Sorscha for a knockdown.

Q came in that Sorscha was behind an obstacle which was between her and Stryker. So when she was knocked down did she drop out of sight so there would be no LOS for follow up attacks. Or does she remain in LOS due to model volume rule?

garbon
07-13-2010, 10:39 PM
The only thing knockdown changes LOS-wise is who the knocked-down model blocks LOS to. So she could still be seen, but would also probably still get cover (for DEF 9 vs ranged).

Cloud-Gatherer
07-13-2010, 10:41 PM
This is your first post, so I'll go easy on you. ;)

There is nothing in the rules that says a knocked down model is any harder to see than it was when it was standing up. The rules on model volume don't enter into it. If you are physically laying your models over when they're knocked down (the only reason I can think of that you'd even mention model volume), you're doing it wrong - that can affect the models' position and facing when you stand them back up, and neither of those things is supposed to change as a result of being knocked down.

If Sorscha were behind a linear obstacle and got knocked down, she'd still be a valid target, and her base DEF would be 5. That would be modified as normal for Cover or Concealment (depending on if your linear obstacle is a wall or a hedge) and any other factors, but she's still very much a valid target. :)

Arthur Chance
07-13-2010, 11:16 PM
Thanks for replies and we played it right on the basis that the LOS section talks about base volume as the determinant. Key thing was the example in the book about the laying down trencher pose

Also we weren't physically knocking down the models. Mark them up but not knock them over

Ta