PDA

View Full Version : Additional attacks vs initial attacks



Jamie P
07-31-2010, 05:05 AM
Example, if the lord of the feast has 3 models in melee with him does his initial swipe and killed 2 of the three. He buys an attack with heart tokens to kill the last model.

Does he still get to shoot his raven even though he has paid for additional attacks.

In a nutshell do you have to use all your initial attacks before buying additional attacks or can you use some initial attacks, buy attacks and then do more initial attacks?

Another example could be to have a warjack with 3 focus with 2 open fists, strikes with the first fist could he buy additional melee attacks with the same fist before using the initial attack for the second hand? If so this would mean you could save a chain attack for the end of your combat action.

absent
07-31-2010, 05:25 AM
Initials before extra, you lose the bird as i understand.

petegrrrr
07-31-2010, 06:32 AM
Virtuoso also lets you make both melee and ranged attacks in the same activation. You would have to buy the bird ranged attack, but you still get it if you have the token to buy it and have not exceeded it's rof of 1.

Virtuoso: This model can make melee and ranged attacks during the same combat action. When this model makes its initial
attacks, it can make both its initial ranged and melee attacks.

The initial attacks are simply free. He can buy a ranged attack if he has the token it costs to buy it. Let me see if I can find an older ruling on this. The LotF is weird in that he is one of the only non-warcasters that has this kind of flexibility. It's the same reason a Blitzer can slam and then buy 1 ranged attack.

drugar101
07-31-2010, 08:28 AM
you can't use heart eater tokens to buy ranged attacks. so if you don't shoot the raven before buying melee attacks, LotF has no way on its own to generate the 'additional ranged attack' needed to shoot the bird.

LEJ
07-31-2010, 08:40 AM
You can make initial melee attacks, attacking everything in range then make initial ranged attack using the bird to get into range of more stuff then buy attacks with tokens.

So you don't need to buy a ranged attack.

drugar101
07-31-2010, 08:43 AM
You can make initial melee attacks, attacking everything in range then make initial ranged attack using the bird to get into range of more stuff then buy attacks with tokens.

So you don't need to buy a ranged attack.

Correct. The problem is when he fails to kill everything in melee range. And has to buy attacks to finish it off. Then he can't use his raven.

Blaque
07-31-2010, 08:48 AM
To specifiy more:

When you make your initial attacks, you need to make all of them at that step of your action. The moment you start purchasing extra attacks, you are past the "initial attacks" part of things. So even if you clear things out with additional attacks, you are past the point you can use your Raven (initial attack) and so loose it.

Or something.

And stuff.

Jamie P
07-31-2010, 02:10 PM
Thats what I thought, all 'initial' attacks need to be done before any 'additional' attacks are bought.

null_sheen
10-02-2010, 11:11 PM
Can you boost attacks for blood reaper without loosing the raven?

Or do you only get heart token after the blood reaper attack?

vintersbastard
10-03-2010, 02:06 AM
Can you boost attacks for blood reaper without loosing the raven?

Or do you only get heart token after the blood reaper attack?
The Blood Reaper attacks are simultaneous, so if the Lord of the Feast didn't have any corpse tokens yet, he cannot boost any of those attacks.
Boosting attacks doesn't prevent the Raven attack. What gave you that idea?


Oh, and by the way:

Guidelines for the rules forum
(...)
We do not approve of thread necromancy (which is posting in and old and gone thread bringing it "back to life"). Threads are locked when this happens no matter what the thread is about. If you think an old topic deserves some more conversation, please start a new thread on the topic.