PDA

View Full Version : Spells from Non warlocks/warcasters



bamburn
12-17-2009, 04:54 AM
Are the following magical attacks considered spells:
-Kiss of Lyliss (from Aiyanna)
-Force Bolt (from Druids and Battle Mages)
-Hunter's Mark (from Blackclad Wayfarer and Lanyssa Ryssyl)
-Wipsnap (from Magistrate)

The implications that I can think of are, if they are spells than:
1) Spell Ward from Avatar and Doomreavers would prevent those models from being targeted by these attacks)
2) Battle Mages and Magistrates would get +2 range from Rahn's feat
3) A unit with eSevy's Defender's Ward couldn't be targeted by these spells
4) Menoth Jacks under a choir's Ward couldn't be targeted by them

From the NQ 26 battle report, I got the very strong impression from they were considered spells as Doom reavers seemed to be protected from them Banishing Ward stopped any attacks on Zercohva for the same reasons. And from a logic/fluff perspective, that would be my leaning.

But logic/fluss does not equal rules. And there is nothing I could find that specifically lists them as spells, so I thought I'd ask. My searchfu turned up nothing.

Maudlin
12-17-2009, 05:39 AM
You're looking for the paragraph on Magical Ability, on p49 of the Hordes FT rules:

"Some models have the ability to cast spells as a special action or attack without spending fury. The spells a model can cast are listed in its entry under its Magic Ability special rules."

So yes, they count as spells, and are affected by Spell Ward et al.

TheUnknownMercenary
12-17-2009, 05:40 AM
Those abilities are listed under those models Magic Abilities, this means that they are spells, take a look at the field test rules under Magic Abilities.



Magic Ability
Some models have the ability to cast spells as a special action
or attack without spending fury. The spells a model can
cast are listed in its entry under its Magic Ability special
rules. Magic Ability special attacks are magic attacks but are
resolved using the model’s Magic Ability score instead of the
FURY stat. A model’s Magic Ability score appears in brackets
next to “Magic Ability”; for example, a Druids of Orboros
model has “Magic Ability [7].”

bamburn
12-17-2009, 07:32 AM
*needs embarrassed emote icon*

Sorry, I looked in the War machine field test rules PDF and couldn't find it, didn't think to check the Hordes.

Thanks.

Maudlin
12-17-2009, 07:38 AM
*needs embarrassed emote icon*

Sorry, I looked in the War machine field test rules PDF and couldn't find it, didn't think to check the Hordes.

Thanks.
In that case it's on p81 :)

bamburn
12-17-2009, 07:54 AM
In that case it's on p81 :)

Sigh. Where is my double embarrassed icon?

Thanks again.