PDA

View Full Version : Obscured models *Hot debate*



wazatdingder
10-17-2010, 08:10 AM
Ok, there is a lot of debate in my local gaming group as to if a shooter is trying to shoot model A, and model B is partially blocking LOS, does model A get any kind of Def bonus. We have be playing it as "NO" then of course, someone comes along (who generally knows what they are talking about) and swears that the model is partially obscured and gets Def bonus. Now we have wracked or brains, stuck our noses to the book, (seriously, 3 of us we're looking the other day) and could not find a ruling either way (which is why we have had the default of "NO") Please settle this for us once and for all, preferably with a page number I can tag and highlight for future debate.

Thanks

hackrune
10-17-2010, 08:21 AM
Pg. 57, Ranged Attack Roll Modifiers, and Concealment And Cover(starting on the same page)

Notice how they say absolutely nothing about other models granting def bonuses. You guys were definitely playing it correctly to start.

petegrrrr
10-17-2010, 08:26 AM
The def bonus that guy was talking about ended with mk 2. In MK 1, it was called screening, but it no longer exists in MK2.

Tell him to look at screening in the mark 1 book, and then ask him to find the page number for it in mark 2. When he realizes it is no where in the book, that should do the trick.

TurboNitroMonkey
10-17-2010, 09:13 AM
The closest thing to this that currently exists, now that screening has gone the way of the dodo, is in terms of ranged attacks with arcing fire ignoring models for sake of line of sight, save for those within an inch of the target, but please reference arcing fire for specific terminology.

But as stated above, the rules you seem to be looking for don't exist.

FearLord
10-17-2010, 10:54 AM
Ok, there is a lot of debate in my local gaming group as to if a shooter is trying to shoot model A, and model B is partially blocking LOS, does model A get any kind of Def bonus. We have be playing it as "NO" then of course, someone comes along (who generally knows what they are talking about) and swears that the model is partially obscured and gets Def bonus. Now we have wracked or brains, stuck our noses to the book, (seriously, 3 of us we're looking the other day) and could not find a ruling either way (which is why we have had the default of "NO") Please settle this for us once and for all, preferably with a page number I can tag and highlight for future debate.

Thanks

Tell your group to forget everything it knew about Mk1. Then all of you should read the rule book thoroughly. Only play the rules you find in the Mk2 rulebook... There isn't a page number that specifically says "models don't get a DEF bonus for standing behind other models", but equally there isn't a page that says there is a bonus...

wazatdingder
10-17-2010, 01:42 PM
Ok thanks guys, piggyback question here, If models do not count as obstructions, then a model with Ghostly cannot move through them right? Incorp says specifically you can move through models, Ghostly says no such thing, only you ignore free strikes, so a Ghostly model has to have room to go around models, right? Take that you pesky Werewolves.

Kommissar Golovko
10-17-2010, 01:44 PM
Yes, Ghostly is not Incorporeal. Ghostly cannot move through models.

sepher32
10-17-2010, 01:45 PM
You cannot move through models with Ghostly.

vintersbastard
10-17-2010, 03:00 PM
Ok thanks guys, piggyback question here, If models do not count as obstructions, then a model with Ghostly cannot move through them right?
Maybe you should start to use the index at the end of the rulebook. Obstructions are a clearly defined term, have nothing to do with models, but are a kind of terrain.