PDA

View Full Version : Dispelling Control area upkeep spells



Craaag
10-27-2010, 12:55 PM
Are control area spells such as Eye of Menoth/Side arms etc dispelled by effects like Fire of salvations weapon's dispel ability when hitting a model benefiting from the spell (in the control area)? Or does the attack have to hit the caster to dispel such effects?

Would a spell such as Hex Blast be treated the same way?

Dominar Eeyore
10-27-2010, 12:56 PM
The upkeep is on the caster creating the control area and therefor the dispelling effect would need to target/cover the upkeep's location (i.e. the caster in your question)

Valander
10-27-2010, 12:57 PM
No, such upkeep spells are on the caster, and therefore you would need to hit them with a dispel effect to remove it.

Craaag
10-27-2010, 01:01 PM
OK thanks, so this is different than Purification which needs only touch the "bubble" of the control area?

Dominar Eeyore
10-27-2010, 01:03 PM
no, for purification to remove the effect it would also need to cover the model that the upkeep is on

Craaag
10-27-2010, 01:44 PM
PG_maxsterling- Are you 100% certain on that for Purification? I've always seen it played where if any part of the area of effect was touched by Purification the upkeep would expire. In these cases where the control area is the area of affect wouldn't it only need touch the control area? Just as when a unit is the area of affect for certain upkeeps it only needs to touch one member of the unit.

In the case of control area upkeeps like Eye Of Menoth the range is self but the area of effect is control. I'm not seeing how that differentiates between an area of effect upkeep that has range of say 8" but an area of affect of model/unit?

Dominar Eeyore
10-27-2010, 01:51 PM
If a unit has an upkeep on it only one model in the unit would need to be covered by purification as the upkeep is on the unit not a single model. If purification covers one of the models in the unit the upkeep will expire. The upkeep is on the unit.

If a single model has an upkeep on it that causes things to happen at a distance, such as a RNG self spell with an area of effect of control, its no different. Purification must cover the model with the upkeep on it. The upkeep is on the single model. (in this case the caster)

when dealing with upkeeps Purification dispells upkeeps from models not effects of the upkeep.

vintersbastard
10-27-2010, 02:26 PM
In the case of control area upkeeps like Eye Of Menoth the range is self but the area of effect is control. I'm not seeing how that differentiates between an area of effect upkeep that has range of say 8" but an area of affect of model/unit?

You are confusing target with effect.
The spells you asked about all target the caster him/herself, while the Rng 8 spell would target some model/unit, in most cases affecting the target model/unit only.
Note that there are some spells that carry an effect for other models, which where not the original target of the spell, but just happen to be in range of the effect. (Look at Chiller, for example.) Most control area buffs work in the same way, just with a very large effect range.

A completely different matter are spells with a range of CTRL that place an AOE of some kind on the table (e.g. Foxhole); those spells are dispelled by Purification if the AOE is in range, while the caster is irrelevant.