PDA

View Full Version : Theme Force Q: (includes # or more of X) vs (includes # of X)



BlueSkies
12-07-2010, 05:21 PM
I have a generl question about theme forces.

Is there a difference between:

Includes # or more X

and

Includes # of X

?

Does the latter mean you can only have that exact number (no more, no less)?

hausdorff space
12-07-2010, 05:26 PM
Can you give an example of where the two different wordings occur?

I would consider them to mean the same thing; and assume it's just different writers.

TheUnknownMercenary
12-07-2010, 08:43 PM
Let's just use Trenchers as an example.
If the themed force says you need to have 2 units of Trenchers as the requirement for a tier, then you need at least those two units but you can have more if you want within the limits of Field Allowance.
If the themed force says you need to have 1 or more units of Trenchers as the requirement for a tier, it works pretty much as above, in that you need at least one unit but you have as many as you want within the limits of Field Allowance.

blue loki
12-08-2010, 04:40 AM
I noticed this in the Circle book as well.
Some Tiers specify "2 units of x", while others specify "2 or more units of x". Since both are used within this same "generation" of rules, it appears to be an intentional specification.

"2 units of x" means exactly "2 units of x", no more no less.

LostBlue
12-08-2010, 08:39 AM
I'll give my input on this as I notice this in various theme lists.

They are the same meaning.
So why the difference?

Let's take a look at a few examples:

From the Forces of Hordes: Circle Oboros



Mohsar the Desertwalker's Theme Army: Sandstorm

Tier 1
Requirements: The army can include only the models listed.

Tier 2
Requirements: The army includes one or more Druid Stoneward and Woldstalker units.

Tier 3
Requirements: The army includes two Druids of Orboros units.

Tier 4
Requirements: The army includes two or more heavy warbeasts.
In this Theme List we have both wordings:
(Tier 2) includes # or more X model/unit
(Tier 3) includes # X model/unit

Why the difference?
The reason is FA. Tier 3 requirement is that you take 2 Druids of Orboros.
The FA of this unit is 2, thus you can't take more b/c FA is reached.


More examples to back up this opinion: (Forces of HORDES: Circle Orboros)


Cassius the Oathkeeper's Theme Army: Widower's Wood

Tier 1
Requirements: The army can include only the models listed.

Tier 2
Requirements: The army includes two or more Warpborn Skinwalker units.

Tier 3
Requirements: The army includes the Lord of the Feast.

Tier 4
Requirements: Cassius' army includes one or more Warpwolf Stalkers.
Again notice that "or more" is not included in Tier 3 b/c the FA of the Lord of the Feast is C thus it makes no sense for "or more" to be added.


Last example: (Forces of WARMACHINE: Retribution of Scryrah)



Garryth, Blade of Retribution's Theme Army: Assassins

Tier 1
Requirements: The army can include only the models listed.
Benefit: Mage Hunter Strike Force units in the army becomes FA:U. Additionally, The FA of Mage Hunter Assassin solos in this army increases by +1 for each Mage Hunter Strike Force unit included.

Tier 2
Requirements: The army includes three or more Mage Hunter Assassin solos.

Tier 3
Requirements: This army includes three Mage Hunter Strike Force units each with a Soulless Escort weapon attachment.

Tier 4
Requirements: Garryth's battlegroup includes only light warjacks.
In this example Tier 3 does not have the "or more" description but the Unit is FA:U (see Tier 1 benefit). Why? It is because while the unit is FA:U the Weapon Attachment is not, thus it makes no sense to have "or more" when you can only take a max of three seperate Soulless Escorts Weapon Attachments (FA:3).



Does this clear this up?

Halfhoot
12-08-2010, 09:21 AM
For the wording... even without FA considerations... if you have 3 units or X in your list then this statement is absolute truth: "Your list contains 2 units of X" So with the example above statement "The army includes 2 Druids of Orboros Units" then even if that list had 7,312 Druid of Orboros units... the statement "The army includes 2 Druid of Orboros Units" would still be absolutely true.