PDA

View Full Version : Slam + Admonition - A strange rules interaction



jonconcarne
12-07-2010, 11:30 PM
K, so as per the following 3 threads (no infernal clarification, but still consensus), if a model with admonition is targeted by a slam, the model with admonition can move as soon as the slamming model ends its movement.

#1 (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?44058-3-what-should-be-simple-questions&highlight=admonition+slam), #2 (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?43092-Admonition-move&highlight=admonition+slam), & #3 (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?39494-Mid-Slam-Animus&highlight=admonition+slam).

This thread (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?1535-Interrupting-charges-slams-to-cast) has a post by Mootaz saying that you can interrupt a slam the same way you can a charge.

So question is not whether or not you can admonition away from a slam or not. That's fairly clear that you can. The question is if you can still make a slam attack if the model moves outside your melee range. Stay with me here for a few moments.

Prime Mk2 Pg52 - last paragraph under slam
A slamming model that ends its slam movement with its slam target in its 0.5" melee range has mad a successful slam. If it advanced at least 3" it makes a melee attack roll against it's target.

So I would assume that you check when you make the melee attack roll that the model is in your melee range. The wording says that you only check at the end of your movement, then you make the attack.

So would you still make the attack if the model admonitioned back?

I think admonition is there to prevent this, but the wording for slams seems to me to not care. Possibly missing a sentence...or maybe I'm crazy.

jonconcarne
12-07-2010, 11:32 PM
Ignore me, see here (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?44336-Admonition-and-Slam)