PDA

View Full Version : Whiplash Backlash, and Feedback



IAN LACEY
01-06-2011, 06:54 AM
:( Oh dear, inadvertantly started a new post in another thread. Zo, let's do this properly.
Two Caster's I'm currently working on, Fiona the Black, and Skarre Queen of the Broken Coast. Skarre is now finished, but that's by the by.
Fiona has Whiplash.
Skarre has Backlash.
Situation: Skarre casts Backlash on one of Fiona's jacks. It suffers damage, Fiona should take a damage point. Does this qualify as a spell targetting Fiona? In which case Skarre would be dismayed to take the damage point herself, courtesy of Whiplash.
Likewise the Satyxis Raiders' Feedback damage from their Lacerators. Not a spell per se', but again would the feedback be re-routed to the Satyxis? If it did, that would be spectacular!

Kenton
01-06-2011, 07:07 AM
.
Fiona has Whiplash.
Skarre has Backlash.
Situation: Skarre casts Backlash on one of Fiona's jacks. It suffers damage, Fiona should take a damage point. Does this qualify as a spell targetting Fiona? In which case Skarre would be dismayed to take the damage point herself, courtesy of Whiplash.

No. As the spell has been cast on the jack. I would need to read the text of whiplash to be 100% certain but you infer that it mentions "target" and Fiona is not the target of any spell (she just suffers a damage effect without being a target).


Likewise the Satyxis Raiders' Feedback damage from their Lacerators. Not a spell per se', but again would the feedback be re-routed to the Satyxis? If it did, that would be spectacular!
The key part here is the "not a spell" bit. It is therefore clearly not affected by whiplash.

Mod_Redphantasm
01-06-2011, 07:08 AM
In order for Whiplash to work, the warcaster herself must be targetted by a spell, and an attack roll made. Damage from Backlash is not a spell targetting the warcaster, it is an additional effect of a spell on another model.

Similarly, Feedback from the Satyxis cannot be reflected by Whiplash. Feedback is a rule of the Satyxis weapons and is not a spell.

IAN LACEY
01-06-2011, 07:22 AM
DEEP joy. Thank you. Fiona has plenty of ways to look after herself, but it helps to know all this B E F O R E the duo take the field.

Kallas
01-06-2011, 07:36 AM
Also, Whiplash reroutes a missed Magic Attack onto the Point of Origin.
Feedback is an ability of Satyxis Raiders and would not qualify on account of not being a Magic Attack, unlike, eg, Arcantrik Bolt (spell) or Force Bolt (Magic Ability, which is also a spell)