PDA

View Full Version : Forests rules-Newb question

Graywolf34b
01-07-2011, 04:19 PM
I am still kind of new to the game but last night I play a two games were the FORESTS RULE came in to play. Firsrt game player generated a forest and had his unit inside. Due to the 3" rule, the expert player stated I could not see him, and he could not see me (unit was not a hunters). Next game I playd a Warjack was in a forst and was 2.5" from edge of forst, player clamed that becuse he could see 0.5" out side of forst he could thus see his full 8" RNG. I do not think he was right but the judge ruled in his favor. According to the HORDES RULE BOOK PG 90 if unit/warbeast/warjack has "any part of its base" inside the forest the unit can only see 3" in or out of the forest for LOS. Was I right in my understading of the rule or was the judge right? I need help understating Forest and how it effects LOS and DEF.

Bumblescrump
01-07-2011, 04:30 PM
Your freind is right, three inches of forest blocks line of sight, less than that does not. I don't have the rulebook in front of me, but that's the only way I've seen the rule interpreted... I see your line of thinking, but maybe it would help to think of LOS as either you have it or you don't, there's no real range. You see, or somethings blocking you from seeing (like three inches of forest).

waspinator21
01-07-2011, 05:58 PM
bumblescrump is right. anything less than 3 inches into a forest is fair game for shooting

TheUnknownMercenary
01-07-2011, 07:36 PM
Primal page 90:

When drawing line of sight to or from a point within a forest, the line of sight can pass through up to 3" of forest without being blocked, but anything more blocks it.