PDA

View Full Version : Alexia and Arcane Disjunction



G Konkel
01-09-2011, 11:19 AM
I don't play Alexia often, but this came up a few times in a tournament: An opponent's warcaster wandered into Alexia's command range and declared he was casting a spell. I checked her command at that point and notified them of the arcane disjunction. Now, are they at this point stuck with having to cast the spell at double cost? I would assume it's the same situation as declaring a ranged/spell attack against a model with stealth.

FearLord
01-09-2011, 11:29 AM
A spell is cast by paying the cost. If you don't pay the cost, there is no effect. Paying the cost can't happen until you know what the cost is. Your opponent's warcaster can reconsider casting the spell, because declaring a spell is not how you actually cast it.

Macallan
04-26-2011, 06:27 AM
Declaring a spell is not how you cast it, but it is the first step. Then you pay the cost. You can not reconsider casting it.