PDA

View Full Version : Beserk with 2 different weapons



Kikker
01-18-2011, 12:10 PM
Hello all, still working on rules' questions.

Warpwolf Stalker : he has an open fist and big sword. He also has controlled warping, which can give him Beserk.

So, he charges in and swings with his open fist first = hits and kills an infantry model, so via Beserk, he has to make another attack. Let's say he swings and kills another infantry model (I assume he has to use the same weapon, his fist). Via Beserk, he takes ANOTHER attack... but let's say he misses on that one.

Does he now start a whole new chain of attacks with his sword (his second weapon)? Meaning, let's say he kills a model with his sword (this time with 2" reach), so he just starts adding attacks from Beserk again?

Seems fatal to an infantry unit in the wrong place...

Mod_Redphantasm
01-18-2011, 12:19 PM
Killing a model with one of his weapons will activate Berserk, which then continues until he fails to kill. He may then take his second attack which can also trigger berserk.

Kikker
01-18-2011, 12:23 PM
Killing a model with one of his weapons will activate Berserk, which then continues until he fails to kill. He may then take his second attack which can also trigger berserk.

Thanks - thinking of it that way makes it clearer. Each attack can trigger Beserk.

NmoLvr
01-18-2011, 01:39 PM
Berserk is on the model, not on a weapon. Every attack that model makes benefits.

It's definitely fatal to an infantry unit. :P

bmeier
01-18-2011, 01:45 PM
(I assume he has to use the same weapon, his fist)

There is no restriction on what weapon a model with berserk must use when making a berserk attack. In your example, a warpwolf stalker can make an initial attack with their open fist and then use berserk attacks generated with the sword.

sarukamate
01-18-2011, 01:46 PM
I assume he has to use the same weapon, his fist

Unless I missed something serious in the MkI to MkII move your assumption is wrong. He can use any of his melee weapons for the berserk triggered attack(s).

rydiafan
01-18-2011, 02:17 PM
You can switch weapons when berserking, but if there are no targets within .5" while there are targets within 2" you cannot choose to berserk with a non-reach weapon if you have a reach weapon.

Ruling here: https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?30098-Switching-Weapons-while-beserking&p=439407&viewfull=1#post439407

wargolem
01-18-2011, 02:29 PM
so how is this allowed with the wording in the prime book that says you can only gain 1 extra attack?

Pyrodude32
01-18-2011, 02:47 PM
The wording in the book means that you can only gain 1 attack at a time. Its to prevent a model with berserk and say thresher, where in that case a model may kill 3 other models in one attack and without that rule they could use the "3 generated attacks" to try and kill a hard target, like a warcaster or warjack.

The rule in which you are referring to is talking about generating multiple attacks from a single attack. Berserk is an ability, so it triggers every time the appropriate weapon kills a target. The ability part is important because it is quite different from special attacks/actions, which can only be used once every combat action.

rydiafan
01-18-2011, 03:17 PM
so how is this allowed with the wording in the prime book that says you can only gain 1 extra attack?

You only gain one additional attack. That attack then gains one additional attack. That attack then gains one additional attack, and so on. Like Pyrodude said, what you can't do is Thresher/Trample 6 guys, and "bank" 6 more attacks, each of which will also gain more berserk attacks.

wargolem
01-18-2011, 06:48 PM
cool thx now it is crystal clear :)