PDA

View Full Version : LOS and Spells



quindraco
01-24-2011, 05:58 PM
If you have a spell which is not offensive and not cast on a model, but has a range that is not self (i.e. a number, CMD, CNTRL, or the like), do you need LOS to where you're casting it?

Examples include Ravyn's Veil of Mists and Barnabas' Swamp Pit, which involve placing AOEs down.

rydiafan
01-24-2011, 06:02 PM
If the spell says "target" you need line of sight. The spells you mentioned do not.

quindraco
01-24-2011, 06:05 PM
Are you saying that because they do not say target, you do not need LOS?

rydiafan
01-24-2011, 06:07 PM
Are you saying that because they do not say target, you do not need LOS?

That's exactly what I'm saying, yes.

Note, however, that offensive spells follow all normal targeting rules, even if the spell does not say "target." They follow the targeting rules by nature of being an attack.

quindraco
01-24-2011, 06:08 PM
Great, that's how I ruled it. It's great to have confirmation. :)

Blitzer
01-24-2011, 06:08 PM
Target is the Key word.

wargolem
01-24-2011, 07:53 PM
nice to know this :)