PDA

View Full Version : Assaulting less than 3": Can a model still shoot?



jesselowe
02-14-2011, 09:44 PM
Does a model that is Assaulting need to move at least 3" (and therefore get a charge attack instead of a normal attack) to get the Assault ranged attack?

The yes argument is: Model has received the Assault order (or can assault), and is able to charge. (Supporting point: A model that fails its charge can still make the ranged attack.)

The no argument is: A model that moves less than 3" before ending its charge movement does not receive a charge attack, but only a normal attack. Since the rule says "before making a charge attack", it therefore cannot make a ranged attack as part of the assault. (Counterpoint: The ability to make a ranged attack after a failed charge on the Assault order is specifically called out in the rules; the ability to make a ranged attack if the model does not receive a charge attack is not.)

Assault (Order): Affected models must charge or run. As part of a charge, after moving but before making a charge attack, an affected model can make one ranged attack targeting the model charged unless they were in melee with each other at the start of the affected model's activation. Models that received this order cannot make combined ranged attacks this activation. When resolving an Assault ranged attack, the attacking model does not suffer the target in melee penalty. If the target is not in melee range after moving, the affected model must still make the ranged attack before its activation ends.

Valander
02-14-2011, 09:52 PM
You do not need to move any specific distance to make the ranged attack part of an Assault order. In fact, note that even if you fail the charge (do not end movement with your target in melee range), you still make the ranged attack.

Failing to move 3" only has the effect of not boosting the initial melee attack from the charge.

Edit: As for the reasoning you present with "no," the "before making a charge attack" is indication of timing, not a requirement for making the ranged attack. (Pretty sure that's actually been ruled on here before, but I'm too lazy at the moment to search for it...)

TheUnknownMercenary
02-14-2011, 09:53 PM
Yes you will get the Assault ranged attack.