View Full Version : forest and LOS

02-21-2011, 03:36 AM

Does Nightwrech have LOS to red gun mage?

Left of green line is blocked by gun mage. That is clear.

Tricky part is right from the green line.
Model is less then 3" deep in forest (if you go by line crossing left gunmage) but part of base which is not blocked by other GM is behind forest.

I'm for no LOS option.

(I know what LOS can be draw from any part of base but it it irrelevant for this scenario so don't focus on that, please :) )

02-21-2011, 03:41 AM
My interpretation is as yours.

The only LOS not blocked by another model is not permitted as it would involve passing entirely through a forest terrain feature.

There is a slim chance that you could draw a LOS between the front Gun Mages from the far right of the Nightwretch but you asked not to count this in the discussion. I'd need a line drawn to be sure anyway.

02-21-2011, 04:26 AM
A similar question has been discussed before. The concensus at the time was the same as your conclusion here. There is no LOS because you cannot see through a forest. The fact that the target model is in the forest has no bearing. I'll see if I can find the link to that other thread, but I'm making no promises. :)

02-21-2011, 06:24 PM
I can not see your images. Can you make a verbal description please, or is it too complex for that? Thanks.

02-21-2011, 06:34 PM
The image is basically this, :Explosive: lets say the bomb is the forest. the shooting model is one one side of the forest completely outside. The other model is just on the other side below where the wick is at, half in and half out. There is another model in the forest that is between the target in the thicker part of the forest so that the only line to be drawn at the target has to pass over the wick thus being behind the forest. Which you can't see completely through a forest no matter how thick it is.

Yay for random images that sort of help(unless I confused you).

02-21-2011, 06:58 PM
That was awesome Ramses, thanks. Obviously, I had an idea from the discussion but that does make it clear.

02-21-2011, 07:50 PM
nope, im stupid re-read the rule

i was gunna say, do you consider the model in the forest...in the forest, then that would make it legal..but even that doesnt work. its based on point to point and since both are outside and the like goes through the forest its null and is untargetable