PDA

View Full Version : Placement and entering AOES



Nafael
03-17-2011, 09:49 PM
Out of curiousity, let's say we have Rahn or Ehaley fighting, let's say krueger, or long gunners.


Krueger pops his feat and puts down several AOEs of "if you enter or end your activation in these, you take a pow 10 or whatever"

If a unit is telekinesesed inside (placed) does it count as entering?

The same thing goes for covering fire, does it counter entering?

tuttleboy
03-17-2011, 10:04 PM
Units only take damage upon entering an AOE using their movement. So no TKing, or pushing, or throwing something into an AOE to hurt it.

Kallas
03-17-2011, 10:52 PM
A model which goes from not in the AoE to being in the AoE must have entered.

See this post (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?55780-Damaging-cloud-effects-Vs.-placed-effects&p=766695&viewfull=1#post766695)for the definition of Entering.

Lanz
03-18-2011, 12:41 AM
It's as Kallas says. 'Entering' is different from the rules that trigger off advancing. Entering doesn't matter whether it was voluntary or not. If you go into the AoE, you take the effect, whether you moved into it yourself, or were pushed/slammed/thrown/placed there.

NmoLvr
03-18-2011, 04:35 AM
Units only take damage upon entering an AOE using their movement. So no TKing, or pushing, or throwing something into an AOE to hurt it.


A model enters an area when its position in play changes such that its previous position was not within the area and its new position is within the area, or when it is put into play in the area.

No emphasis of mine in this one, chris. If you change position from outside to inside the AoE, you entered it. Doesn't matter if it was voluntary or not.