PDA

View Full Version : Thunderhead Energy Pulse attack



R Gordon 1028
03-23-2011, 03:57 PM
Can Thunderhead use this attack when in anyones melee range?
Thunderhead moves into melee range, not charge or run, and Pulses. if not the 6" AOE is reduced by the first 2.1" if the opponent has reach. This appears to limit the use of this attack.
Can Thunderhead charge and then use the Pulse attack? If YES must Pulse be the first action taken. It is a 'star' action.

sleet01
03-23-2011, 04:13 PM
This is a fairly well-covered question; in the future please search the Rules threads before posting new threads.

The Thunderhead's Pulse is a ranged weapon so it cannot be used in melee. Running units into melee range of the Thunderhead is one of the most classic denial moves; you'll see it a lot if you play the Thunderhead.

Thunderhead cannot charge and use the Pulse attack for two reasons. 1) While you can use some *Attacks as the Charge attack, you can only use melee *Attacks as your initial attack when charging, not ranged *Attacks. 2) If T-head's charge movement succeeds he'll be in melee and so can't Pulse; if his charge movement fails he'll be out of melee but his activation ends immediately so he can't pulse.

jking_3rd
03-23-2011, 09:22 PM
The Thunderhead's Pulse is a ranged weapon so it cannot be used in melee.

Specifically, the Pulse is listed on the back of the card underneath the section of the ranged weapon. B/c of this, its considered to be a *Attack of the ranged weapon. Thus, the rules of engagement prohibit it from being used at all when engaged. But careful search-fu will uncover a fun tactic w/ Arlan Strangeways that you'll probably find beneficial.

Also, charges are considered to be melee attacks, b/c its an ability under the ranged weapon, you wouldn't be able to use it w/o Virtuoso, since rules prohibit the use of both melee & ranged attacks in a given turn. So its impossible to use this attack during a charge.

vintersbastard
03-24-2011, 01:10 AM
Also, charges are considered to be melee attacks, b/c its an ability under the ranged weapon, you wouldn't be able to use it w/o Virtuoso, since rules prohibit the use of both melee & ranged attacks in a given turn. So its impossible to use this attack during a charge.

More specifically, you are only allowed melee *attacks after a charge. Even with Virtuoso, you couldn't use a ranged *attack.

TKaz84
03-24-2011, 05:40 AM
The Thunderhead's Pulse is a ranged weapon so it cannot be used in melee. Running units into melee range of the Thunderhead is one of the most classic denial moves; you'll see it a lot if you play the Thunderhead.

This is also why Arlan Strangeways is the Thunderhead's best friend, even though he and Nemo aren't too fond of each other lore-wise :)