PDA

View Full Version : Line Of Sight Clarification



2LiveIs2Die
04-24-2011, 08:43 AM
Pg. 58: A model within 1" of a covering terrain feature that obscures any potion of its base from an attacker gains +4 DEF against ranged and magic attack rolls.

http://img717.imageshack.us/img717/5726/question2w.png

In the example, the attacking model (blue) can draw clear line of sight to the entire model that is being targeted. On the other hand there is a portion of the line of sight that can also be drawn that would obstruct "clear" line of sight.


The question simply is does the target (grey) get cover?

I have my opinion but I'll leave it to myself, please do not answer with a yes or no only, explain your answer.

Hjelmen0
04-24-2011, 08:47 AM
Yes, the grey model has cover. It is within 1" of a covering terrain feature that obscures a portion of it's base from the attacker.

In other words: If you can draw any line of sight from attacker to target that would grant cover, then the target has cover.

Cadian Munkey
04-24-2011, 10:14 AM
Yes, the grey model has cover. It is within 1" of a covering terrain feature that obscures a portion of it's base from the attacker.

In other words: If you can draw any line of sight from attacker to target that would grant cover, then the target has cover.

I'll add that the line has to originate from the attackers front arc.

-Munkey

rydiafan
04-24-2011, 11:06 AM
I'll add that the line has to originate from the attackers front arc.

You shouldn't add that, because it isn't true.

The line can originate from any point on the attacker's base. it only has to end in the attacker's front arc.

Infernal agreeing with me: https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?57778-Linear-cover-and-corners-Does-it-stop-counting-as-cover&p=804412&viewfull=1#post804412

katatonic
04-24-2011, 03:45 PM
You shouldn't add that, because it isn't true.

The line can originate from any point on the attacker's base. it only has to end in the attacker's front arc.

Infernal agreeing with me: https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?57778-Linear-cover-and-corners-Does-it-stop-counting-as-cover&p=804412&viewfull=1#post804412
Very important for people to remember this. :Shield:

TheUnknownMercenary
04-24-2011, 03:51 PM
Yes, the grey model has cover. It is within 1" of a covering terrain feature that obscures a portion of it's base from the attacker.

In other words: If you can draw any line of sight from attacker to target that would grant cover, then the target has cover.

This is the correct answer to the OP.

TheUnknownMercenary
04-24-2011, 03:52 PM
You shouldn't add that, because it isn't true.

The line can originate from any point on the attacker's VOLUME. it only has to end in the attacker's front arc.

Infernal agreeing with me: https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?57778-Linear-cover-and-corners-Does-it-stop-counting-as-cover&p=804412&viewfull=1#post804412

Fixed that for you.