View Full Version : Kovaas vs Goad timing

04-24-2011, 03:31 PM
Situation: Zaal vs Hoarluk
A Dire Troll Mauler has just killed an Ancestral Guardian on the Trollblood turn. The Skorne player has the option to replace the Ancestral Guardian with the Kovaas and wishes to do so. The Trollblood player has the option to Goad the Mauler forward to the next model in line, and wishes to do so. The Mauler's desired move would place it in the spot the Kovaas will appear.

What order do these happen in?
If the Goad movement happens first, what effect does that have on the Kovaas?
The effects of the Kovaas forming first are already clear to me: The Mauler has to go around.

04-24-2011, 03:34 PM
Without knowing the specific wordings of the two abilities, I will assume they trigger at the same time.

In that case, The timing rules in Appendix A of Prime and Primal state in step 12 to "resolve the active player effects that do not involve making an attack" before you "resolve inactive player effects."

04-24-2011, 03:42 PM
Looking at exact sequence, the Krovaas would enter play first. Goad triggers on 'if it destroyed a model, after the attack is resolved it can' while Krovaas replaces at the step where you remove the destroyed AG from the table, during the 'triggered by destruction' step. It also triggers Goad because it triggers off 'destroyed' but the actual movement does not occur until the attack is fully resolved. The Dire Troll Mauler could advance through part of the Krovaas however, assuming it had enough movement to fully do so, because the Krovass is Incorporeal.

So what we have happening here:
Step 11: Applying damage
Mauler destroys AG
Destroyed triggers:
-Goad: May now be used after the attack is resolved.
-Destruction Spawned: The AG is replaced with the Krovaas model.

Step 12: Attack is now resolved
Goad allows the Mauler to be forced to advance up to 2".

04-24-2011, 03:47 PM
The Kovaas is placed in Step 11 Damage Application, part 5.
Goad triggers at Step 12 B.

Attack Main Sequence pg 245.