PDA

View Full Version : Steelhead Cavalry Assault and Flank



thumpernickle
01-13-2010, 10:31 AM
I have a question about how the Steelhead Cavalry's "Assault" order and their "Flank" ability interact. Do the Steelhead Cavalry suffer the -4 in melee penalty when their assault target is in melee with another unit, like the Steelhead Halberdiers? And does "Flank" also kick in? This question is based on how to read the line in assault that states that "the attacking model does not suffer the target in melee penalty."

Example: Steelhead Cavalry are ordered to "Assault" Warcaster B. Warcaster B is currently engaged by a unit of Steelhead Halberdiers. The Steelhead fail to engage their target, but still get to shoot their target as a result of the Assault order. Is the correct RAT for the Steelhead Cavalry A. (RAT+Flank bonus and ignore -4 in shooting into melee) or B. (RAT-4 [shooting into melee penalty] + Flank Bonus)?

petegrrrr
01-13-2010, 10:40 AM
Flank states "melee attacks". It doesn't do anything for ranged attacks.

blue loki
01-13-2010, 10:42 AM
Directly from the Assault rule on the card:

"When resolving an Assault ranged attack, the attacking model does not suffer the target in melee penalty."

You do not suffer the penalty. Period.

Devilsquid
01-13-2010, 10:43 AM
They actually reworked Assault to now say: "the target does not count as being in melee" or something similar.

Before, if you tried to assault someone being engaged by a halberdier with a steelhead cav, you'd get the penalty to hit AND possibly shoot the halberdier in the back of the head...

Funny, but not very effective.

Also note that flank works with impact attacks, as they're "melee" attacks made by the cav model, but be mindful of your .5" melee range. No squishing halberdiers!

thumpernickle
01-13-2010, 10:46 AM
Ok. So the Flank bonus is out. But what about the ignoring target in melee penalty?

edit: Answered before I could hit post. Thanks guys.