PDA

View Full Version : Do side effects of being hit by a weapon occur if the weapon is used in a power atk?



HRViolation
05-31-2011, 08:51 AM
Example: Megalith's has his Rune Fists that apply a debuff on the target hit. If Megalith were to power attack throw or do a head lock (both using his Open hand Rune Fists but not explicitly a punch) would the debuff still be applied?

My memory says "yes" but I can't explicitly find the ruling anymore.

rydiafan
05-31-2011, 09:00 AM
If the ability is on Megalith, then yes. If the ability is on the fist, then no. The Power Attack rules specifically say not to apply any effects of the weapons.

Amarel
05-31-2011, 10:41 AM
"Weight of Stone" is an ability of Megalith's weapons, so the debuff only comes into affect from being hit by weapons attacks.

Valander
05-31-2011, 10:46 AM
Don't have Primal handy, but should be similar in there:


When a model makes a power attack, do not apply the special abilities on its weapons unless they specifically reference power attacks.

As rydiafan said, since the ability is on the fist, it does not apply on the power attacks.

DemonCalibre
05-31-2011, 02:08 PM
Power attacks are not made with weapons, though they may require you to have a particular trait on your weapon to do them.

So no weapon effects are applied on on power attacks unless they say they do(for example Hard headed)