PDA

View Full Version : Malice freestriking a charging model - what happens to the charge movement?



juckto
06-02-2011, 06:23 PM
If Malice hits an enemy jack he may use Possesion to make it do a full advance and a normal melee attack, then possesion ends.

Macallan ruled that you can do it on free strikes. Link (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?64637-can-malice-use-souls-for-possession-on-a-free-strike&p=895665&viewfull=1#post895665)

If Malice does this to a model which is charging, are there any restrictions on the possesion move?

If the possesion move is done such that the charge target is not in melee range and/or not in Line of Sight, what can the original owning player do next (considering that it still had movement remaining when the free-strike occured)?

Gavriel
06-02-2011, 08:42 PM
Well due to the errata wording on charging, I would think that if possession triggers then the charging model's charge would automatically fail because the charge movement was interrupted, so after the possession attack your activation would end.

bmeier
06-02-2011, 09:52 PM
Well due to the errata wording on charging, I would think that if possession triggers then the charging model's charge would automatically fail because the charge movement was interrupted, so after the possession attack your activation would end.
Only if the model charged is not in the charging models melee range after possession ends.

vintersbastard
06-03-2011, 01:11 AM
Well due to the errata wording on charging,

The errata only applies to pushes, slams and throws. Others ways of interrupting a charge do not stop charges per the wording.

EDIT: See below for the ruling on the opposit.

Vex
06-03-2011, 06:36 AM
Only if the model charged is not in the charging models melee range after possession ends.

This may be the case, but I cannot imagine a scenario against a conscious opponent where you would end up in melee and facing your intended target.

Macallan
06-03-2011, 09:55 AM
Moving while being possessed while charging will make the charge immediately fail, as if you were pushed or slammed.

Valander
06-03-2011, 09:58 AM
Moving while being possessed while charging will make the charge immediately fail, as if you were pushed or slammed.
Would the charging model be required to finish any remaining movement it had, in a straight vector, after the possession's advance+attack was finished?

Edit: Or would the "charge immediately fails" lead straight to the end of activation, per failed charges? It seems like it would probably be the case.

RedWynd
06-03-2011, 10:25 AM
Edit: Or would the "charge immediately fails" lead straight to the end of activation, per failed charges? It seems like it would probably be the case.

This seems the way this is going.

vintersbastard
06-03-2011, 11:01 AM
Would the charging model be required to finish any remaining movement it had, in a straight vector, after the possession's advance+attack was finished?

Edit: Or would the "charge immediately fails" lead straight to the end of activation, per failed charges? It seems like it would probably be the case.
As Macallan said that it works just like pushes and slams, the model would stop moving immediatly. So, as long as the target is still in melee range (improbable, but possible), the charge would still be successful.

Valander
06-03-2011, 11:05 AM
As Macallan said that it works just like pushes and slams, the model would stop moving immediatly. So, as long as the target is still in melee range (improbable, but possible), the charge would still be successful.
Yeah, that makes sense. Interestingly, the errata doesn't say "immediately fails," though, it says:



The charging model stops if it contacts a model, an obstacle or an obstruction or if it is pushed, slammed, or thrown.Which supports your statement of being able to carry on in the improbable condition that the original charge target is still in melee range. Movement, however, would cease, it appears, so any "leftover" charge movement should be lost.

Macallan
06-03-2011, 01:34 PM
Yes yes, it works as with push or slams. Not necessarily a failed charge, but probably.

juckto
06-03-2011, 01:55 PM
So, to confirm I've got everything correct:
Malice can use possession on free strikes. Macallan's ruling (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?64637-can-malice-use-souls-for-possession-on-a-free-strike&p=895665&viewfull=1#post895665).
After possession finishes, the model can continue its activation normally, subtracting any movement that was "used up" before the free strike occurred. TUM's ruling (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?65364-Malice-free-striking-a-model-how-much-movement-afterwards&p=895998&viewfull=1#post895998).
If Malice possesses a charging model he may move it normally under possession, but once control returns to the original player the charge movement stops. It will be a failed charge if the charge target is not in melee range. (Ruling in this thread).

Macallan
06-03-2011, 01:56 PM
Yes, this.