PDA

View Full Version : trample and shooting



terminal
07-09-2011, 03:52 AM
A heavy receives 2 focus it then tramples can it now shoot using the spare focus if not locked in melee?

cerinicus
07-09-2011, 04:47 AM
A trample is a power attack. A power attack is by definition a melee attack. Unless special rules allow a model to melee and range attack at the same time, then no you cannot shoot. Others may and probably should correct me if I'm wrong. Don't have the rules in front of me at the moment.

x3tsniper
07-09-2011, 04:50 AM
I have not found a place to quote from, but I am reasonably sure that you are using your action for a melee power attack when you are doing a trample. If you had virtuoso, then I believe you would be able to buy those attacks, or if you had a special rule like behemoth, it has a ruling that says it can also make it's initial ranged attacks when it melee attacks or power attacks.

Valander
07-09-2011, 09:42 AM
Power Attacks are melee attacks:


Power attacks are melee attacks with a 0.5" melee range.
As such, you normally cannot make both melee and ranged attacks during the same activation unless you have a special rule (such as Virtuoso) allowing you to do so.