PDA

View Full Version : Agonizer Spirtual Afflication vs Avatar



SlaveOneD
07-11-2011, 10:56 AM
Is the Agonizer able to prevent focus allocation on the Menoth Avatard?

silverpuppy
07-11-2011, 11:03 AM
No, because the avatar is not allocated focus

Rynth
07-11-2011, 11:05 AM
The Avatar cannot be allocated focus; it receives focus.
Agonizers do nothing to prevent gaining focus through non-allocated means.

SpellBinder
07-11-2011, 11:05 AM
Nope because the Avatar of Menoth's Holy Vessel rule itself states it has no cortex, cannot be allocated focus (which is part of what the Agonizer's Spiritual Affliction will do), and it receives d3+1 focus points during the allocation step of the Control Phase (which is not allocation).

SlaveOneD
07-11-2011, 12:32 PM
I assumed as much and will readily agree, based on RAW, but has this been made official as perhaps RAI may interpret it much differently.

Thanks for the response guys!

WeekendDemo
07-11-2011, 12:39 PM
It's official because there is an official distinction between "allocating focus" and other means of acquiring focus. If something only prevents allocation, that is literally the only form of focus acquisition it inhibits.

Creid
07-11-2011, 12:50 PM
A similar example would be the Deathjack and the Seether. The Deathjack receives two focus automatically from its Skulls of Hate. Further, it can convert soul tokens to focus. Neither of these abilities are affected by the Agonizer, although the Agonizer can prevent normal focus allocation to the DJ.

Seether, on the other hand, is allocated one free focus by its ability. This, therefore, is subject to all of the usual requirements: needs a functioning cortex, 'jack not be disrupted, etc. The Agonizer can absolutely stop the Seether from receiving its free focus.

SlaveOneD
07-11-2011, 02:09 PM
OK cool. Thanks Again guys!