PDA

View Full Version : When is an animus not an animus?



unpro
07-11-2011, 05:44 PM
Just wanted to clarify a few things, and didn't want to divert the other topic any further.

This is probably in the Hordes book, which I don't own - should be quite simple clarifications.

If a warlock casts an animus, it's as though it's a spell on their spell list or something. How does this interact with:

a) Bethayne's feat (casting animi for free or something? ouch?) - does this mean she can spam animi herself?
b) Purification (or anything else that affects upkeep spells and animi) - does this affect animi cast as a spell by a warlock?
c) Blessed (or anything else that ignores spell effects, but not animi) - does this affect animi cast as a spell by a warlock?

Lazlo
07-11-2011, 05:52 PM
a) Bethayne's feat says her beasts can use their animi for free, not her.
b) An animi cast as a spell is still an animi, so Purification gets rid of it.
c) An animi cast as a spell is still a spell, so abilities that ignore spells in the appropriate context will ignore an animi cast by a warlock.

unpro
07-11-2011, 05:55 PM
sweeeeet, cheers :)

Rynth
07-11-2011, 05:59 PM
An animus is always an animus, but sometimes an animus is also a spell.

Gamingdevil
07-12-2011, 01:25 AM
An animus is always an animus, but sometimes an animus is also a spell.

This. When a warlock casts an animus it is both an animus and a spell and rules/bonuses/penalties for both apply. When a warbeast uses an animus, it is simply an animus.