PDA

View Full Version : power attacks and extra attacks



prozacman
07-11-2011, 07:39 PM
So random warnoun (beast/jack) has two initial attacks. It charges, then makes both attacks, can it force/spend focus to gain an extra attack, then use another to make that extra attack a power attack?

Related question, can the same warnoun charge, make one initial attack, then force to make the second attack a power attack?

Thanks in advance.

juckto
07-11-2011, 07:40 PM
No. You may buy additional normal attacks.

No. When you make initial melee attacks, you make one normal melee attack with each weapon.

-------

A model can do either a Special Action, or a Combat Action. Special Actions can not be used after charging.

If you do a special Combat Action, choose ONE of the following:
Initial Melee Attack(s)
Initial Ranged Attack(s)
Special Melee Attack
Special Ranged Attack
Power Attack

Initial Melee Attack(s)
Make one normal attack with each melee weapon.
You may buy additional normal melee attacks.

Initial Ranged Attack(s)
Make one normal attack with each ranged weapon.
You may buy additional normal ranged attacks, to a maximum of the weapon's ROF.

Special Melee Attack
Make one special melee attack in accordance with your model's special rules.
You may buy additional normal melee attacks.

Special Ranged Attack
Make one special ranged attack in accordance with your model's special rules.
You may buy additional normal ranged attacks, to a maximum of the weapon's ROF.

Power Attack
You may not make a Power Attack after charging.
Make one power attack in accordance with the rulebook's power attack rules.
You may buy additional normal melee attacks.

devoncodain
07-11-2011, 07:55 PM
Yeah what he said.

prozacman
07-11-2011, 08:15 PM
Thanks, still learning (clearly) and my gaming group is as new as me. It helps to have information entering my brain from multiple sources.

Hellsing
06-05-2013, 09:31 AM
No. You may buy additional normal attacks.

No. When you make initial melee attacks, you make one normal melee attack with each weapon.

-------

A model can do either a Special Action, or a Combat Action. Special Actions can not be used after charging.

If you do a special Combat Action, choose ONE of the following:

Initial Melee Attack(s)
Initial Ranged Attack(s)
Special Melee Attack
Special Ranged Attack
Power Attack


Initial Melee Attack(s)
Make one normal attack with each melee weapon.
You may buy additional normal melee attacks.

Initial Ranged Attack(s)
Make one normal attack with each ranged weapon.
You may buy additional normal ranged attacks, to a maximum of the weapon's ROF.

Special Melee Attack
Make one special melee attack in accordance with your model's special rules.
You may buy additional normal melee attacks.

Special Ranged Attack
Make one special ranged attack in accordance with your model's special rules.
You may buy additional normal ranged attacks, to a maximum of the weapon's ROF.

Power Attack
You may not make a Power Attack after charging.
Make one power attack in accordance with the rulebook's power attack rules.
You may buy additional normal melee attacks.

How does this work with model/warjacks that have the following sentence include in the special attack. I'll use the example of the Kodiak below:
"After a Vent Steam attack. this model can make additional melee attacks."

Does this mean he has to BUY additional melee attacks with focus to make them or does the model just make the additional melee attacks as normal? This phrasing comes up a number of times with special attacks & I want to make sure if there was a difference between 'buy' with focus & 'make'.

THANX
Jefferson

Valander
06-05-2013, 09:40 AM
Please don't necro threads.

That said, in order to make additional attacks, warjacks have to spend focus to do so (aka, "buy" them).

In the case of Vent Steam, that wording is there because Vent Steam is not a ranged or melee attack, so you would not otherwise know what type of attacks were allowed for the rest of the activation.