PDA

View Full Version : Covering Fire



Pacer
07-30-2011, 07:07 AM
Covering Fire (on the Manticore Heavy Myrmidon) has in its text:
"A model entering or ending its activation in the AOE suffers a damage roll..."

If a model in the same turn enters the AOE and then ends its activation while inside of it, does he suffer two damage rolls or just one?

NagashTheBlack
07-30-2011, 07:28 AM
Just the one.

To clarrify the rule is written like that to avoid a situation where a unit that is in the AOE when it is placed would be effected if they just stay there, a unit that moves into it, or a unit that moves out of it. All will be effected equally. :Cont-Corrosion:

tort
07-31-2011, 01:37 AM
You only get one damage roll, that is correct but if you start in the AOE and end your activation outside of the AOE then you have neither entered the AOE nor ended your activation inside it. A unit that starts its activation in the AOE and moves out of the AOE will not trigger the effects (in this case they will not suffer a damage roll).

FearLord
07-31-2011, 02:56 AM
To clarrify the rule is written like that to avoid a situation where a unit that is in the AOE when it is placed would be effected if they just stay there, a unit that moves into it, or a unit that moves out of it. All will be effected equally.

A unit that moves out of it will not be effected - "entering" is clearly defined in the rule book and "ending an activation" is also easy to determine. If a model does neither of these 2 things, it with not be effected.

jameslsummers
07-31-2011, 08:58 AM
so from what your saying, i could put the covering fire template on one of my troops that has already finished its activation and it wouldnt get affected by it even if it later moved out of it?

Sacredsouless
07-31-2011, 09:49 AM
Yep, in fact thats a tactic Cygnar often uses to protect some of our stuff from squishy, hard to hit, melee like Kayazy. They charge your stuff, they take a damage roll.