PDA

View Full Version : INCORPOREAL then shoot



mangsky
08-12-2011, 04:19 AM
Lets say a model is

-incorporeal
-does NOT have gunfighter

can this model shoot at a target in melee range?

it stays incorporeal until just before the attack roll
because it loses incorporeal only when "making an attack"

so technically it can declare the ranged attack since it was unengaged at that point

did I get that right?

(imagine a pistol wraith without gunfighter)

NmoLvr
08-12-2011, 04:31 AM
so technically it can declare the ranged attack since it was unengaged at that point

Where in the incorporeal rules does it say the model is unengaged?

mangsky
08-12-2011, 04:41 AM
dammit, good point there! :)
mistaken assumption that an incorporeal model is unengaged

bakaryu
08-12-2011, 06:06 AM
An incorporeal model can be engaged by anyone as normal, they just cannot be harmed outside of magic weapons, magic attacks and magic damage rolls from miscellaneous sources (such as the Sacrifice scenario).

Of course could always just walk out of combat unless opponent has a magic weapon...

sleet01
08-12-2011, 06:07 AM
And anyhow, the incorp model without gunfighter would still be engaging its target, putting it in melee and thus unable to make a ranged attack.

Vondell
08-12-2011, 12:43 PM
And anyhow, the incorp model without gunfighter would still be engaging its target, putting it in melee and thus unable to make a ranged attack.

Not necessarily. An all ranged attack model w/out Gunfighter would have no melee range and thus would never itself engage another model. However, it could still be engaged by another model.

Example: A Bile Thrall would not engage a Pistol Wraith but it would be engaged by the Pistol Wraith.
On the same note, 2 Bile Thralls could be base to base w/ each other and still shoot each other since they have no melee range.