PDA

View Full Version : Does a destroyed unit commander become a detroyed grunt?



juckto
08-13-2011, 02:16 PM
Deathbound - Grunts in this unit that are destroyed while in formation return to play at the beginning of your next Maintenance Phase. Place the returned Grunts within 3" of the unit commander. If the unit commander leaves play, remove from play all destroyed Grunts not yet returned to play then choose a new unit commander.
When the unit commander is destroyed he is not removed from play, because he is not a grunt. Then a new unit commander is chosen, so does the old one become a destroyed grunt?

In other words: Can the new unit commander resurrect the old unit commander (as a grunt model)?

RedWynd
08-13-2011, 02:37 PM
In short, no. Since he is not a grunt, Deathbound will not affect his model and it is destroyed as normal. Then the other part of Deathbound kicks in and all pending grunts are also removed from play.

juckto
08-13-2011, 03:14 PM
Since he is not a grunt, Deathbound will not affect his model and it is destroyed as normal. Then the other part of Deathbound kicks in and all pending grunts are also removed from play.
Yeah, but being "destroyed as normal" doesn't prevent him from being eligible from coming back next turn. And next turn he is not the leader model. A unit is only made up of a leader and grunts, so therefore he must be a grunt.

It goes: Unit commander destroyed as normal -> remove from play destroyed grunts -> new unit commander chosen -> destroyed unit commander is not a unit commander anymore, therefore must be a destroyed grunt -> Next maintenance phase -> bring back destroyed grunt models.

The part in green is where the question lies.

tuttleboy
08-13-2011, 03:30 PM
You're putting stuff in the rules that do not belong there. When he's destroyed he's a unit leader, the rules don't say anything about him becoming a grunt when he dies, therefore he's a dead unit leader.

Macallan
08-13-2011, 03:47 PM
Be nice.

I am checking that.

RedWynd
08-13-2011, 04:09 PM
With the assumption that he did turn into a Grunt, it still wouldn't work.

Where it breaks down is, Deathbound only affects "Grunts in this unit that are destroyed while in formation".

Was he in formation when destroyed? Yes. But was he a Grunt when destroyed? No. Therefore, Deathbound cannot bring him back.

Macallan
08-17-2011, 12:19 AM
He cannot come back. While no unit Commander is on the table, no models are "in formation."