PDA

View Full Version : How to resolve Marauder's "Ram Pistons Combo Smite" ability?

khadorfan
08-16-2011, 03:00 AM
Hi guys,
newbie here. I apologize if this has been asked before, but I'd tried looking through the forum and couldnt find a thread that answer my question...perhaps its too silly to begin with. Anyway, can anyone tell me how is the khador Marauder's "Ram Pistons Combo Smite" ability resolved? The rules says that this ability "replaces normal damage roll with Str12 plus twice of Pow". But given that normal dmg roll is given as Str+Pow+2d6, does this mean that the Ram Piston special replaces the normal (+2D6) part of the equation with Pow+Pow or does it replace the entire Str+Pow+2d6 with Str+Pow+Pow instead?

In other words, does the Ram Piston Combo Smite deal a damage of Str12+2xPow4+2d6 for a potential maximum of 32 or just Str12+2xPow4 with no "+2d6" modifier which is a straight 20??

Thanks!

bitmatic
08-16-2011, 03:05 AM
It's 20... But i completely understand your confusion - the wording is not very precise.

EDIT: I just re-read your question, and to avoid any confusion the total damage from a combo-smite is 2D6 + 20. It is effectively just adding the POW (4) of both pistons into one single attack.

bitmatic
08-16-2011, 03:06 AM
It was recently discussed here: https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?74391-Slayer-s-combo-strike-damage-roll-should-be-32-2d6

khadorfan
08-17-2011, 06:45 PM
Thank you Bitmatic! Wow, that means the Marauder can get up to 32 pts of damage?!? man, that is insane...I might just have to deploy this baby in my battlegroup :)

juckto
08-17-2011, 07:38 PM
Up to 38 if you boost the damage.

bitmatic
08-18-2011, 01:00 AM
Thank you Bitmatic! Wow, that means the Marauder can get up to 32 pts of damage?!? man, that is insane...I might just have to deploy this baby in my battlegroup :)