PDA

View Full Version : Initial attacks and power attacks



Kroflut
10-14-2011, 07:19 PM
In a melee attack, the attacker gets one initial strike for every melee weapon he/she/it has. Do these initial attacks have to be used for dealing damage, or can they be used for power attacks, especially throws, locks, headbutts? Asked the other way around: Do power attacks (other than slams and pushes?) always have to be bought as additional attacks, after the initial attacks did damage?

Rifta
10-14-2011, 07:23 PM
Power attacks replace initial attacks. Also if you choose to make your initial attacks (say you're already engaged in a fight) you can not buy power attacks after you've made at least one initial attack. If you choose to make a Throw/Headbutt/Weapon Lock or any other Power Attack, it takes 1 Focus/Fury to do so. You can then spend additional Focus/Fury to make normal attacks after.

Valander
10-14-2011, 07:46 PM
There is a bullet list on pp. 48-49 of Prime, and corresponding list in Primal on the same pages. When you do your combat action, it specifically says you pick one of the options listed. Please double check that section, and if it remains unclear ask for further clarification.

Special Attacks and their sub-set Power Attacks can not be bought as additional attacks; only normal attacks may be bought (unless of course a specific model has a special rule otherwise allowing it).