PDA

View Full Version : chain sacrificial pawn



alexbib
10-24-2011, 11:09 PM
Got a new one: is it possible to sacrificial pawn (or sucker!) to a model that also has this ability and then have that one use it as well?

ResurrectioN
10-24-2011, 11:40 PM
Yes.

(10 chars)

x3tsniper
10-25-2011, 09:05 AM
I would doubt that it would be allowed.

Sacrificial Pawn says, "That model is automatically hit(makes me think you could do it) and suffers all damage and effects(makes me think you cannot).

The part that says that the model that got pawned suffers all damage and effects makes me think that you couldn't use the ability twice, unless you wanted 2 models to suffer the damage and effects. >.>

Valander
10-25-2011, 09:10 AM
It is allowed, per Maudin's ruling a while back:

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?62654-From-one-Sucker-to-another&p=870155&viewfull=1#post870155

While that's specifically referring to Sucker, Sacrificial Pawn works the same way. You cannot go into an infinite loop, though, so a model with Sacrificial Pawn/Sucker would not be able to bounce it again if it was bounced to it after using the ability.

Anurien
10-25-2011, 10:53 AM
Trying to understand the infinite loop bit...

The 'Hit' could go from A->B->C->etc but could not go back to a previous model?

ie Not allowed to go A->B->C->D->B->etc

Valander
10-25-2011, 10:58 AM
Trying to understand the infinite loop bit...

The 'Hit' could go from A->B->C->etc but could not go back to a previous model?

ie Not allowed to go A->B->C->D->B->etcSort of, it could go back to B, but B would not be able to use Sacrificial Pawn/Sucker again on that hit.

Edit: So, you could do A->B->C->B, but it would then have to stop there.

x3tsniper
10-25-2011, 02:59 PM
Sort of, it could go back to B, but B would not be able to use Sacrificial Pawn/Sucker again on that hit.

Edit: So, you could do A->B->C->B, but it would then have to stop there.

I am confused by your example? Did you typo type B in the second time?

From the other post

"Answer is that chaining is allowed; however the same attack can only be 'sucker'ed once by each model with Sucker."

If it can only be Sacrificial Pawned once then why is it being directed at B two different times.

juckto
10-25-2011, 03:03 PM
It's not who it is being directed at, but who is doing the directing.

A uses it once to pawn to B.
B uses it once to pawn to C.
C uses it once to pawn to B.

B is stuck with it.

Valander
10-25-2011, 04:27 PM
It's not who it is being directed at, but who is doing the directing.

A uses it once to pawn to B.
B uses it once to pawn to C.
C uses it once to pawn to B.

B is stuck with it.You got it.