View Full Version : Assaulting from a failed charge - Is it possible?

11-09-2011, 05:50 PM
The title says it all.

If a unit is given the assault order and charges their designated target but fail to get into melee do they still get to fire their ranged attack from the assault order? I ask because it is my understanding that if a charge is declared and fails their activation ends immediately which would mean that they would not get to fire.

11-09-2011, 06:00 PM

It's actually a pretty common tactic, especially for the Carnevian.

11-09-2011, 06:06 PM
I believe that its covered in the last sentance of the Assault rule.

"If a model is not in melee range after moving, the affected model must still make the ranged attack before its activation ends"

11-09-2011, 06:10 PM
Searching for a thread to confirm this, the answer is really: See the very last sentence of the Assault ability.

There shouldn't be any question that you attack before ending your activation.
Edit: Ninja'd while looking up stuff. :(

11-09-2011, 06:21 PM
Not only is it possible, by the wording of that last sentence it's mandatory.