PDA

View Full Version : Reaching over a model to his a model with greater volume



somnicide
12-06-2011, 12:22 PM
Hey there, I tried searching but reach over model returned about a zillion hits. Basically, I am wondering if it is allowed for a model with reach to reach over another model to hit a model with a greater volume.

Here are a couple of examples

1. 3 doom reavers wrapped around the front of a heavy warjack each in base to base with each other and one directly behind the middle one. Can the one behind it attack over the intervening model?

2. 1 troll fennblade is in base to base with a heavy warjack and for whatever reason there is a fennblade directly behind the one in base to base. Can the rear fennblade attack the heavy warjack?

Thanks

hackrune
12-06-2011, 12:32 PM
You can always see over a smaller base to a larger base. You can't see over a base to a base of the same size, and you can't see over a base to a smaller base.

So the answer to both your questions is yes.

Pyrodude32
12-06-2011, 12:33 PM
They can as long as they are all in melee range.

Here's the way that Line of Sight works. A small base model blocks line of sight to other small base models. A medium base model blocks line of sight to other medium and smaller based models. A large base model blocks line of sight to large and smaller based models. etc.

So the small based guys can over each other to see the large based model, but the large based model can not see past the first small based guy. It doesn't matter that the second row of models can see the warjack - so the warjack still can't see the small based guys.

drachenfels
12-06-2011, 12:42 PM
and just to clarify - VOLUME does not matter here, LINE OF SIGHT is what matters.

ThatRickGuy
12-06-2011, 01:06 PM
The only time Volume matters is when you are looking for LOS over terrain/obsticals. When it comes to screening models, so long as the interviening models are smaller than the target model, you can see it. If the interviening models are the same size or larger than the target model, you can't see it.

-Rick

Cambeul
12-06-2011, 01:28 PM
And the only models that break this rule are ones that have Tall in the Saddle, and possibly Battle Engines.

Valander
12-06-2011, 02:28 PM
Model volumes are only used for terrain.

A model can make an attack against a model that is:

1. In its LOS. (Review Prime pp.43-44)
2. In its melee range.

The lines for determining 1 and 2 do not have to be the same line.

As usual, a model may have special rules that modify how it determines 1 or 2. ;)