PDA

View Full Version : Another Linear Obstacle question



shags_jc
01-16-2012, 07:23 PM
Ok. Just needed to confirm exactly how these work (a summary from other threads found on here) all refer to a linear obstacle:

1. A model without pathfinder cannot charge a model behind a linear obstacle.
2. A model with pathfinder can charge a model behind a linear obstacle
3. In 2 above or 1 if the model can walk into contact with the linear obstacle, if the model does NOT have reach it would have to still make it across the obstacle to attack in combat. If it is stuck on the closer side then it would not be able to attack. (obstacle greater than 0.5"?)
4. In 2 above if the model has reach it can charge the model, stop in front of the linear obstacle and still attack in combat, though with the defender getting +2 def. Or if the model can make it through the linear obstacle then it could attack without the defender getting the bonus.

Does this all sound correct?

Michael
01-16-2012, 07:31 PM
1) The model without Pathfinder could not cross the linear obstacle during the charge. If the charging model has Reach, and can get the target in its melee range, then you can certainly charge it.

To be incredibly pedantic: a non-Pathfinder, non-Reach model can absolutely attempt to charge the model behind a linear obstacle; the charge will simply fail once the charging model contacts the linear obstacle if it fails to get its target in melee range.

2) Yes. The charging model must still be able to engage the target for the charge to be successul (and all the other charging rules are met, etc.). A model cannot end its movement standing on the linear obstacle, though. If you have enough movement to completely cross the linear obstacle, then you are fine and dandy. Pathfinder allows you to charge over that linear obstacle.

3) Linear obstacles are up to 1" tall but less than 1" thick. If the linear obstacle is less than 0.5" thick (and both models are touching the linear obstacle), then yes, I suppose so; a non-reach model would be able to attack its target. If the linear obstacle is more than 0.5" wide, however, you will need Reach in order to make the attack.

4) A model with Reach can certainly attack over the linear obstacle. The target would gain +2 to its DEF during the attack. The +2 DEF disappears as soon as you can no longer draw any lines between your model's volume and the target model's volume that cross the linear obstacle.

shags_jc
01-16-2012, 07:37 PM
Exactly how I thought it would be. Just needed to get it straight before I played them with a Kraye Tier list next week.

Cheers.

Valander
01-16-2012, 08:08 PM
Yup, looks correct, with the clarification in post 2.