View Full Version : Question on throwing

01-18-2012, 09:00 PM
Alright, this recently came up in a game, and I want to know if people at my LGS have been playing it wrong (including me).

When it comes to 1 handed and 2 handed throws, the only way not to throw your full distance (half your strength) is to target a model? Or can you actually designate a point in some direction up to half your strength to throw to, and then deviate from?

01-18-2012, 09:20 PM
After reading the rules, it seems you are right. Interesting. Actually, its my understanding that only double hand throws can target a model, but single hand throws just go str/2" in a straight line.

Karl Eller
01-18-2012, 10:15 PM
This appears to be correct, yes. Warmachine Prime, p54, Being Thrown:

Measure a distance from the target equal to half the attacker's current STR in inches along the chosen direction to a point on the table. This point is the thrown model's intended point of impact

If you could pick how far it landed, it would say something like "distance from the target up to half the attacker's current STR". If a double-handed throw isn't targeting a model, it works as above.