PDA

View Full Version : Theme Force model references and Prime MkII pg29 rule.



Skorpius47
02-11-2012, 10:31 PM
Using advice, I am making a new topic and linking to the old one.

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?62772-Sea-Dog-Deck-Gun-and-Devil-to-Play-%28Fiona%29&p=1287599#post1287599

Fiona the Black's theme force Devil to Pay states that it can take along Sea Dog Crews. Normally, we would expect this to reference one unit, the Sea Dog Crew, due to Prime MkII's rule on pg29:

A model or unit may be referenced by either line of its name, in whole or in part.
Sea Dog Deck Gun- Mercenary Privateer Weapon Crew Unit is left out in the cold.

However, there is a discrepancy:
NQ#36's theme force for Rhyas, Rearguard, has a benefit that references "Blighted Ogrun War Chief solos" of which none exist unless you break pg29's rule because no model has that reference on one line. There is, however, a Warmonger War Chief - Legion Blighted Ogrun Solo, which seems to be what the Theme Force is referencing.

Is this a new Theme Force model reference structure that now opens up different options for previous Theme Forces, or is this a typographical error in NQ#36 original print, and NQ#40's reprint, of Rearguard? If the case was the former, then the Deck Gun would count as a Sea Dog Crew unit for Fiona's Devil to Pay Theme Force. If it were the latter, then will we see an errata on the issue?

solkan
02-12-2012, 01:23 AM
One of the proposals from the previous thread was that the term weapon crew from the second line was a game term and thus indivisible. Unlike the case of attachments, where attachment, unit attachment and weapon attachment are all game terms, and it's reasonable to call a weapon attachment an attachment because they're types of the other.

In other words, a weapon crew unit is not a crew unit, much like a lesser warlock is a warlock, and it would be incorrect to read page 29's naming policy as saying that rules terms can be split.

So take two valid chunks "Blighted Ogrun" (from 'Legion Blighted Ogrun Solo') and "War Chief" (from 'Warmonger War Chief') and put them together and you get "Blighted Ogrun War Chief", but there's no two valid chunks that you can get "Sea Dog Crew unit" out of 'Sea Dog Deck Gun' and 'Mercenary Privateer Weapon Crew unit' because you'd have to split the game term weapon crew.

Skorpius47
02-12-2012, 06:18 AM
It makes sense, but I'm still not sold. If another type of Crew unit were to become available for some reason, then this would all change.

However, other evidence is floating around. Bartolo's Rough Seas theme force references Sea Dog Crews and Sea Dog Deck Guns as separate entities, and just about every other weapon crew in the game has Crew in it's name in one other form.

Macallan
02-12-2012, 06:51 AM
The word "weapon crew" is a single word game wise until otherwise noticed.