PDA

View Full Version : pbutcher's feat



Borgnine
02-14-2012, 10:50 AM
Hello, his feat says that all attack damage rolls gain an additional die. What is the purpose of the word 'attack'? Is that just to differentiate actual attacks from blast damage, etc?

Thanks

Demeritus
02-14-2012, 10:55 AM
Hello, his feat says that all attack damage rolls gain an additional die. What is the purpose of the word 'attack'? Is that just to differentiate actual attacks from blast damage, etc?

Thanks

It works on all things that make an attack that cause a damage roll so this does include gaining an additional damage die on blasts so things like the mortar or destroyer will be rolling 3d6 on their blast damage rolls under his feat.

solkan
02-14-2012, 11:03 AM
Things like the damage inflicted for being in a building that just got destroyed, or falling damage, etc. are not attack damage rolls. If you have a burning pit on your table that says "Models standing in the pit take a POW12 damage roll", that's not a attack damage roll.

Generally, if it's a damage roll applied as part of an attack (and the attack doesn't say otherwise) then that damage roll is an attack damage roll.

Flak Maniak
02-14-2012, 01:37 PM
It excludes collateral? That said, the "friendly faction" wording excludes collateral too. Seems a bit pointless to have attack in there.

vintersbastard
02-14-2012, 03:36 PM
It excludes collateral? That said, the "friendly faction" wording excludes collateral too. Seems a bit pointless to have attack in there.

Collateral damage is considered to not have been caused by an attack, so it's not attack damage.

Things like the Berserker's Unstable explosion aren't attacks either, so they don't cause attack damage as well.

solkan
02-14-2012, 03:41 PM
It excludes collateral? That said, the "friendly faction" wording excludes collateral too. Seems a bit pointless to have attack in there.

"friendly faction" doesn't have anything to do with the action that caused the damage, it has to do with excluding broad categories of models that might otherwise be causing qualifying damage rolls.

If you put a Mercenary model in Butcher1's army, damage rolls for attacks by that model are not going to be attack damage rolls for a "friendly Faction" model.

Flak Maniak
02-15-2012, 05:06 PM
Right, that's what I meant. Saying "attack" excludes collateral, but since collateral isn't from an attack or model specifically, it just is, friendly faction also excludes it. (Though obviously the point of friendly faction is to exclude mercenaries.)

poeticruse
02-15-2012, 05:15 PM
The rule says attacks so that it does not affect things that are not attacks.

A listing of what it excludes is beyond the scope of a rules forum thread. VB identified one example.