View Full Version : Dirty Meg and Offroad drive

02-18-2012, 03:19 PM
So Meg's drive states that the jack MUST use its next activation to perform a charge or slam. Does this consume the pseudo focus from jackmarshalling or is it free?

02-18-2012, 04:04 PM
It's always a good idea to check the Errata:

Dirty Meg. Drive: Off Road.
Replace the third sentence of Drive: Off Road with the following:
If it passes, the warjack gains Pathfinder and must charge or power attack slam without spending focus during its activation this turn.

02-18-2012, 04:56 PM
glad to hear that, got a copy of the errata but havent had a time to read it all yet, thanks.

Bunny de Guerre
02-18-2012, 07:03 PM
But if Dirty Meg used her 'jack marshal advantage to make the warjack charge, the warjack wouldn't be spending focus to do so anyway, would it? I assume that the errata means that the charge doesn't use up the 'jack marshal benefit for the turn?

02-18-2012, 08:14 PM
The 'pseudo-focus' as it's commonly called is a passive ability that is always conferred while within the marshal's command range assuming they don't attempt and fail a Drive roll.

02-18-2012, 08:33 PM
Megs drive does not use up her jack marshal ability. Calling it pseudo-focus is dangerous shorthand.

The jack charges without using the ability because it has been allowed to charge without focus by the drive rule, as noted above. Since it now has permission to charge, it need not look further for that ability (i.e. use up jack marshal...).