PDA

View Full Version : Charger?



Sirstas
02-20-2012, 01:12 PM
Quick noob question. The duel cannon's powerful attack can I use it both times

Crate123
02-20-2012, 01:14 PM
Yes, for 3 focus you get 2 fully boosted shots.
Its quite a powerful jack at 4 points but its also quite a greedy jack.

Mod_Redphantasm
02-20-2012, 02:23 PM
Yes, every time you spend a focus to boost a ranged attack of the Dual cannon you activate powerful shot and may boost both the attack and damage rolls.

LordCommaderCavanaugh
02-27-2012, 09:48 AM
Oh, so it costs on focus to activate powerful shot then it costs the on focus per double boost per shot. Wow, and now I understand why you should bring a squire and Jr. when using the charger on a Haley team. It's because he heats up lots of focus.

FearLord
02-27-2012, 09:52 AM
Oh, so it costs on focus to activate powerful shot then it costs the on focus per double boost per shot. Wow, and now I understand why you should bring a squire and Jr. when using the charger on a Haley team. It's because he heats up lots of focus.

Not quite - it costs 1 focus for powerful attack each time you shoot (powerful attack letting you boost both the attack and damage roll) but you also have to pay for the second shot, since the Charger only has 1 initial ranged attack. It is able to buy additional ranged attacks up to its ROF - in this case 2.

Mighty
02-27-2012, 09:59 AM
Oh, so it costs on focus to activate powerful shot then it costs the on focus per double boost per shot

Not quite. Yes, you pay one focus for each double boosted shot, but you do not pay the third focus for activating the ability. The third focus is used to buy the second shot (the Charger has a gun with ROF2).

edit: Ninja`d.

Nuriochi_sol
02-27-2012, 10:19 AM
This might be a little confusing starting out. Here's the deal.

1. You have a Charger with 3 focus on him.
2. You activate the Charger and make his initial ranged attack which you don't pay for per the rules of the game.
3. You spend a focus to activate Powerful Shot. Resolve attack with boosted hit and damage rolls.
4. The Charger's gun has Rate of Fire 2, meaning you can spend a focus to buy the second shot.
5. At this point you can shoot normally (unboosted) or spend another focus to activate Powerful Shot again.

So, the Charger is a focus hog, but has some flexibility. One focus will give you a single shot with boosted rolls, two will give you one boosted and one unboosted. And of course three will give you two boosted shots.

Sanguinary Dan
02-27-2012, 12:18 PM
So, the Charger is a focus hog, but has some flexibility. One focus will give you a single shot with boosted rolls, two will give you one boosted and one unboosted. And of course three will give you two boosted shots.
You forgot one option.

With one focus you can fire 2 unboosted shots. With RAT6 and POW12 this can be effective against most regular infantry. Assuming they aren't protected by a buff of some type anyway. ;)

poeticruse
02-27-2012, 12:43 PM
Locking this before someone thinks they wandered into the Cygnar tactics forum. Correct answer available repeatedly above.