PDA

View Full Version : The Marauder Combo Smite



Octavius_Maximus
02-20-2012, 06:00 PM
Hey, ive got some questions about the Marauder Slam.

1. If a marauder Charges into an enemy model and uses its Combo Smite, is the damage roll boosted because its a Charge Attack?
(This means 3 dice if it charges, 4 dice is it hits a model of the same size, 5 dice if the butcher uses his feat!!)

2. A slam is always made directly away from a model, does this disregard the models actual facing? Because this means that a marauder could charge the corner of a models base in order to aim the Combo Smite and slam a model 45 degrees away from its direct facing. Is this how it works?

Thanks very much!

Crate123
02-20-2012, 06:12 PM
1: Yes

2: When you charge a model, after you finish your movement you will turn to face the model directly so this slam would never be anything but directly away from the slamming model and thus the direction it faces.
When you do a normal slam, you turn to face the model directly, then move into contact with it enemy and then slam directly away. Again, this slam can never be anything other than directly away and thus the direction the attacker faces.

Now, if you advanced into melee without charging or slamming, and then did the combo smite (or any other kind of unusual slam) you would slam the model directly away and that would not necesarily be the exact direction your own model faces.

Michael
02-20-2012, 06:12 PM
1) Yes. You'll roll 2d6 damage + 1d6 for the charge, +1d6 if the slammed model collides with another model of equal base size or larger or an appropriate terrain feature, and +1d6 if affected by Blood Frenzy.

2) The model is moved directly away from the center of the slamming model's base. The slam direction has nothing to do with the facing of the model being slammed. You can get interesting angles that normal slams cannot because you are charging and follow the movement rules for charging. However, the slam movement portion of the Combo Smite resolves like a normal Slam.

Octavius_Maximus
02-20-2012, 06:20 PM
Lol, so with charging, another model, and blood Frenzy you are doing, as an average, Pow 20+(5Dice) 17-Arm damage? Sweeeeet

Then the model getting hit by it, if its the same sized Warjack, takes Pow 12+ (4dice) 14 damage?

For 1 focus? (or none with pButcher using Full throttle).

Yeeeeeeeeeeeeees

Thank you all!

Mastershake
02-20-2012, 06:26 PM
Lol, so with charging, another model, and blood Frenzy you are doing, as an average, Pow 20+(5Dice) 17-Arm damage? Sweeeeet

Then the model getting hit by it, if its the same sized Warjack, takes Pow 12+ (4dice) 14 damage?

For 1 focus? (or none with pButcher using Full throttle).

Yeeeeeeeeeeeeees

Thank you all!

No, the model getting hit takes a POW 12 (read combo smite, collateral is just your base STR), and it doesn't get extra dice because the Butcher's feat affects "attack damage rolls" and collateral damage is not (collateral is also unboostable, and only the model getting slammed gets the extra die, not the model it hit), so it would be a POW 12 with 2D6.

Octavius_Maximus
02-20-2012, 06:28 PM
hmmm interesting. Sorry, i misread collatoral damage.

its ok, its nice Utility to have as well as a hell of a wallop.