PDA

View Full Version : Discard Dice and Critical Hits



Hammerdrake
02-21-2012, 07:54 AM
Okay, I tried searching, but had no luck...

I just want to confirm that using a spell such as Signs and Portents, in which you add a dice to your attack roll and discard the lowest, that if you have to remove a double, you do not land a critical hit.

ie - I need a 4 to hit and am rolling 3 die, they end up: 3, 3, 5. I must remove the lowest dice, so the attack roll is a 8, which hits, but is not a critical hit correct?

Thanks!

PS - are there similar effects that allow you to add additional die, but choose which ones to remove, as opposed to having to remove the highest/lowest?

hackrune
02-21-2012, 08:09 AM
That's correct, and I believe the only spell that lets you choose is Ashlynn's Roulette feat, but I could be wrong on that one.

RayofPaint
02-21-2012, 08:13 AM
Right, because it's not considered a "hit" until the 1 dice is discarded.