PDA

View Full Version : Impact Attack Timing with Tremor and Repulsor Shield



Stabby McGiggans
03-11-2012, 01:42 AM
Hello. I had this situation come up during a game, and wondered whether or not it was played correctly. I've provided diagrams to help.

An Ironclad, which is in Kraye's battlegroup, declares a charge against model A. It has sufficient movement to get there and then proceeds to do impact attacks against models A and B since they are both in its melee range.

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b255/knndrm/ExampleS1.gif

Both attacks hit and now it gets interesting. Model B just so happens to be a Revenger, and its Repulsor Shield is not taken out with the impact attack damage roll. So now the Ironclad is pushed back an inch, which takes it out of melee range of its charge target (Model A).

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b255/knndrm/ExampleS2.gif

Now the discussion begins. He declares that he will do his Tremor attack, since at the end of his movement, he was in melee range of his target. Also, since the Tremor attack doesn't need a target, he says that his activation wouldn't be over, which is my argument. I've searched the forums and found that you could not do the Tremor attack because of a failed charge, but I couldn't find anything that would verify either of our positions. Maybe my search-fu is weak, but I could use any clarification to this discussion since I do find the timing situation interesting.

Thanks in advance.

drachenfels
03-11-2012, 01:52 AM
impact attacks happen durring movement, check the errata/FAQ
http://privateerpress.com/files/WM%20MKII%20Rules%20Errata%20Jan%202011_0.pdf

The charging model stops if it contacts a model, an
obstacle, or an obstruction or if it is pushed, slammed, or thrown.

so after being pushed (which happened during movement) the ironclad s stopped from moving, and since he is not in melee of either he has fail charged and his activation immediately ends (can't tremor)

Killbox
03-11-2012, 02:16 AM
Impact attacks are done during movement, not at the end of.

Off to peruse my rulebook.

MagnustheJust
03-11-2012, 06:41 AM
As much as I hate to say it {:p :p :p} Drachenfels is right on this one.

I play against the Menites a lot...

thumpernickle
03-11-2012, 08:28 AM
Does being pushed stop your movement? If the Ironclad still an 1" to move after pausing movement for impact attacks, could move back into melee range?

Valander
03-11-2012, 08:33 AM
Does being pushed stop your movement? If the Ironclad still an 1" to move after pausing movement for impact attacks, could move back into melee range?
Yes, check the latest errata. A charging model stops if it is pushed, slammed, or thrown.

thumpernickle
03-11-2012, 08:47 AM
Wow, totally missed that. Thanks.