View Full Version : Magic Bullet: Targeting Same Model?

03-11-2012, 01:57 PM
Can you target the same model hit with the ranged attack as the target of the Magic Bullet damage?

"after resolving the attack choose a model within 4? of the model hit."

As I read it you choose "a" model "within" 4". Since a model is considered within the radius it generates and it doesn't say "another or any other model" so the same model should be a valid target, yes?

03-11-2012, 02:11 PM
That's already covered, and forbidden, by the rules for measuring to models.

When determining the effects of a spell or ability that affects models within a specified distance of a model, the effect is a circular extending out from the model's base and including the area under the model's base. Unless the spell or ability says otherwise, however, that model is not considered to be within the distance itself.

In this case, you're being instructed to pick a model from inside the 4" area.

In other words, the model that you hit is not "a model within 4" of the model hit" according to the rules.